Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Historic Formula One Featured at Monterey Motorsports Reunion

Tyrrell P34 at Laguna SecaA strong field of 38 historic F1 cars will take to the grid to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Formula One at this year’s Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, held August 12-15, 2010 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

“The first world championship Formula 1 race was held at Silverstone in 1950 and for this year’s Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, we wanted to celebrate the 60 years of Formula 1 history with a featured race,” explained Gill Campbell, CEO/general manager for Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. “Dan Gurney, the only American to build and win in a Formula 1 race in a car of his own construction will be on hand to help us pay tribute to the beautiful and history-laden grid of Formula 1 cars.”

On the grid will be one of the most radical entries ever to succeed in Formula One competition. The 1976 Tyrrell P34 ‘six-wheeler’ used four, tiny 10-inch wheels and tires at the front and two ordinary sized wheels in the back. The idea of the smaller front tires was to increase air penetration and have a smaller ‘frontal area’ to reduce drag. Driver Patrick Depailler debuted the car and with team-mate Jody Scheckter earned one win and several high place finishes.

No historic F1 race would be complete without a few of Colin Chapman’s revolutionary cars. The 1976 Lotus 77, known as the John Player Special MK II, driven by Mario Andretti to victory at the Japanese Grand Prix, will be on track along side the 1967 Lotus 49. The Lotus 49 was the first Double Four Valve powered car in F1 with an engine that not only was revolutionary; it started the Ford/Cosworth relationship. Driven by Jimmy Clark, it won its debut race at Zandvoort. This was the first F1 race car that had sponsor liveries and wings.

Lotus F1 at Laguna Seca in 2008

The red team from Modena, and F1, are two names that will forever be entwined with each other as Ferrari is the oldest surviving and the most successful F1 team in Grand Prix racing. Fans will experience the 1969 Ferrari 312 driven by Chris Amon and Pedro Rodriguez, the 1970 Ferrari 312B driven by Jacky Ickx which was the first F1 car from the Scuderia with the ‘boxer’ engine (flat 12 cylinders), and the 1980 Ferrari 312T5 which was driven by Jody Scheckter and Giles Villeneuve. The Ferrari 312T series won 27 races, four constructors’ and three drivers’ championships.

Ferrari F1 at Laguna Seca in 2008

The Rolex Monterey Motorsport Reunion is honoring one of the true legends of motorsports – Dan Gurney who is one of three Americans to have won an F1 race. Additionally highlighting the 19 race groups will be a dedicated grid of 40 Bugatti race cars in the Bugatti Grand Prix, a featured race for Trans-Am; and for the first time ever, Stock Cars (with drum brakes) that competed between 1959 and 1975.

For Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion tickets, Pre-Reunion information and additional details, visit or call 800-327-7322.

[Source: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca; photo credit: Dennis Gray]