Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>
Seb Coppola's 1970 Lola T192 late Friday afternoon as the sun drops. DennisGray
Seb Coppola\'s 1970 Lola T192 late Friday afternoon as the sun drops.

F5000 Drivers Association 2015 Schedule

The Formula 5000 Drivers Association announced its vintage car racing schedule for 2015, highlighted by an invitation to participate in the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

According to Seb Coppola, president of the Formula 5000 Drivers Association: “I am thrilled to be able to announce another season of superb racing events at great U.S. race tracks.”

The U.S. Formula 5000 Revival Races will take place at the following venues in 2015:

  • July 16-19: Road America – The Hawk with Brian Redman
  • August 8-9: Monterey Pre-Reunion at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • August 13-16: Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • November 4-8: SVRA Vintage National Championship at Circuit of the Americas

Coppola added, “As a group, we are delighted to participate in the 2015 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion and Pre-Reunion events. With an expected grid of more than 40 Formula 5000 race cars coming from Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand and various regions of the U.S., we look forward to some excellent racing and giving racing fans a great show. This is a special treat for racers and fans alike. Such a large group of F5000 cars has not competed at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in 40 years.” The last professional F5000 race at Laguna Seca took place on October 12, 1975 which Mario Andretti won in a Lola T332. That race car, now owned by Zak Brown, will return to race at Laguna Seca in August 2015.

The U.S. Formula 5000 Drivers Association is a membership car club established to promote the restoration, presentation, registration and racing of historic Formula 5000 race cars. The Association organizes vintage racing events and other activities for its members. In addition, the Association manages a registry of Formula 5000 cars. For additional information, visit

[Source: Formula 5000 Drivers Association; photo: Dennis Gray]