Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

2009 Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance Award Winners

The 2009 Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance was held Sunday, August 2nd on the grounds of Meadow Brook Hall in Rochester, Michigan.

A crowd of close to 10,000 automotive aficionados gathered this past Sunday to take in a magnificent array of over 230 collector cars entered in the 30th anniversary Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance. The field ranged from drag cars to Duesenbergs and also included a vintage motorcycle class.

1939 Delahaye 165 Cabriolet by Figoni et Falaschi and 1934 Packard V-12 Sport Sedan by Dietrich won Best of Show at the 2009 Meadow Brook Concours d'Elegance
“Best of Show” honors were bestowed upon a 1934 Packard V-12 Sport Sedan by Dietrich owned by Ray Scherr of California and a 1939 Delahaye 165 Cabriolet by Figoni et Falaschi from the Peter Mullin Foundation of California. Mullin’s Delahaye also won the “People’s Choice” award.

The “Best of Show – Motorcycle” was awarded to a1938 Brough Superior SS-100 owned by Jack Wells of Florida.

“A fantastic cross section of collectors were showcased on the field, with cars and motorcycles hailing from 25 states and Canada,” said Larry Moss, Chairman of the Car Selection Committee, Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance. “The judges had to make some tough decisions on Sunday to come to a consensus on the award winners.”

As part of the Concours’ 30th anniversary celebration, the organizers paid tribute to the current domestic automakers in recognition of the strong support they have shown the event over the years and their contributions to automotive design.

Over 80 cars entered this year represented the show’s overarching theme of “The Best of Detroit” from the beginning of automotive production in America through to the 1960s. A 1934 Cadillac V-16 Convertible Sedan owned by David Kane of New Jersey received “The Best of Detroit” award.

The first time being shown in North America, an unrestored one-off alloy 1934 Alfa 8C 2300 Boattail Speedster owned by Roger Willbanks of Colorado garnered the “Debut” award.

For a complete list of award winners, visit

[Source: Meadow Brook Concours]