Race Retro 2011 Celebrates Competition Jaguar E-Types

Competition Jaguar E-Type at Race Retro 2010Race Retro 2011 will celebrate one of Britain’s best-loved sports cars next year when it returns to Stoneleigh Park, Coventry in the earlier slot of 25-27 February. Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Jaguar E-Type’s launch at the show will be the drivers and backroom boys who helped forge the car’s competition success.

The Jaguar E-Type offered the performance and elegance of far more exotic (and expensive) machinery and commanded a loyalty unseen with other makes and models. From its first outing when Grand Prix drivers Graham Hill and Roy Salvadori made its racing debut against an international field of top sports and GT cars from the world’s leading manufacturers, they dominated the race and a legend was born.

Successfully combining glamorous looks with potent power, the E-Type had a tough act to follow – XKs, C- and D-Types had proved highly successful in sports car racing across Europe, Australia and New Zealand and in the Americas, and there was a strong British tradition to uphold. E-Types in both six- and 12-cylinder form were popular for their robustness, and that lineage continues today in many disciplines of historic motor sport, not just in the UK but across the globe.

Race Retro 2011 celebrates Coventry’s finest with a major display of competition E-Types, along with other competition Jaguars including an XK120, C-Type, D-Type, MkII saloons and an XJ12C. The guest list of well-known Jaguar drivers is already being put together with invites offered to some of the greatest names in racing history.

Adult ticket prices for Race Retro 2011 start from just £20 for Friday and Saturday, £15 for Sunday when booking in advance. Children’s tickets are £5 on Friday or Saturday and free on Sunday. Parking is also free throughout. The show is open from 9.30am each day and closes at 5.30pm on Friday and Saturday and 4.30pm on Sunday.

For more information on Race Retro 2011, visit www.raceretro.com.

(See Race Retro 2010 – Report and Photo Gallery)

[Source: Race Retro; photo credit: Marcel Hundscheid]