Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

International Motorsports Hall of Fame – 2011 Inductees

International Motorsport Hall of Fame The Board of Directors of the International Motorsports Hall of Fame announced the 2011 class on Wednesday, January 12 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. Chosen by a panel of 125 international motorsport media, the inductees for 2011 are: John Holman, Jan Opperman, Maurice Petty, Brian Redman, and Rex White. They will be enshrined to the Hall of Fame on Thursday, April 14, 2011.
“Congratulations to these exceptional motorsports legends that make up the 20th Anniversary Class of Inductees, “said IMHOF Executive Director Grant Lynch. “This year’s class consists of world-wide talent, what they have accomplished is in fact amazing and they are true pioneers in motorsports history.”
International Motorsports Hall of Fame – 2011 Inductees
John Holman (1918-1975): One half of one of the most successful NASCAR owners, John Holman partnered with Ralph Moody to form one of the most successful NASCAR teams, Holman-Moody. One of the first teams to build a “purpose-built” stock car racing chassis, Holman-Moody cars won two NASCAR Championships and 96 races with over 30 drivers.
Jan Opperman (1939-1997): From the sprint car world, Jan Opperman was known as one of the original “outlaw” drivers before the development of the World of Outlaw series. Not one to run for points or championship, Opperman would travel the country driving many tracks and different sanctioning body. One of his most prestigious wins came at the 1976 Hulman Classic, which featured many top sprint car drivers in the country and had several drivers in the field who would start the Indianapolis 500. Opperman also raced twice in the Indianapolis 500 in 1974 and 1976.
Maurice Petty (1939 – ): Part of the famed Petty family, Maurice Petty is best known as the chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises. With Dale Inman turning wrenches and Maurice Petty providing horsepower, Richard Petty drove to 200 NASCAR victories during Maurice’s career. Petty also competed in a total of 26 NASCAR sanctioned races between 1960 and 1964, scoring seven top-five finishes and 16 top 10s, with a best showing of third in 1961.
Brian Redman (1937 – ): Brian Redmand was part of four International Championship of Makes titles, won the 1970 European 2.0-Liter Championship, three-straight F5000 Championships (1974 to 1976) and the 1981 IMSA GTP Championship. Redman also achieved great success in endurance racing, winning the Targa Florio in 1970, the 24 Hours of Daytona three times (1970, 1976 and 1981), the Nurburgring 1000km twice (1969 and 1973), the Spa 10000km four times (1968, 1969, 1970 and 1972) and the 12 Hours of Sebring twice (1975 and 1978). Redman continues to race in historic and vintage races as well as promoting these forms of motorsports.
Rex White (1929 – ): Chosen as one of the Fifty Greatest Drivers of NASCAR, the 1960 NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion was one of the original members of Chevrolet’s NASCAR racing team. Rex White won 28 races and recorded 163 top-ten finishes in 233 starts.
About the International Motorsports Hall of Fame & Museum
Located in Talladega, Alabama and opened in April of 1983, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum is dedicated to the preservation of the history of motorsports. The International Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is held on the grounds of the museum to honor those men and women chosen for induction from among the greatest names in all of motorsports. The 2011 ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 14th at the SPEED Channel Dome within the International Motorsports Hall of Fame. This black-tie ceremony consists of a reception, banquet and awards ceremony. Individual tickets are $125 and a table for eight may be purchased for $1000 by calling 256-315-4631.