Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Winter Marathon Rally 2014 – Report and Photos

The Winter Marathon Rally 2014 was held 24-27 January at Madonna di Campiglio in the Dolomites of Italy. A field of nearly 130 historic car teams challenged this year’s reliability trial that was a difficult combination of cold weather, snowy conditions and lots of curves.

Giuliano Cane and Lucia Galliani won the 26th annual Winter Marathon in their 1938 Lancia Aprilia, with the crew from Bologna winning the competitive rally for the sixth time. Second place, by a separation of 39 penalties, went to the 1939 Lancia Aprilia of Ezio and Francesca Salviato, while the 2013 race winning team of Antonino Margiotta and Bruno Perno finished third overall in their 1965 Morris Mini Cooper S.

The 230 competing cars — representing 24 marques — left Madonna di Campiglio to face the 426 km circuit of the Winter Marathon 2014 that consisted of 44 time trials, four time controls and a passage control. The event took place on roads open to normal traffic with average speeds not exceeding 40 km/h.

Similar with previous editions, Porsche was the most represented brand with 38 cars including the 1954 Speedster driven by Biagio Capolupo and Beatrice Saottini, the 1964 356 C Cabriolet of Enrico Fulgenzi and Sergio Troise and the 1973 911 Carrera RS driven by Pietro Innocenti and Laura Confalonieri. Other notable entries at the 2014 Winter Marathon included the BMW 507 of Stoschek / Brasch, the 1967 Alfa Romeo 1750 Spider Veloce Prototype owned by Corrado Lopresto and the 1962 Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ Coda Tronca entered by the Alfa Romeo Historical Museum.

Winter Marathon Rally 2014 – Photo Gallery (click image for larger picture)

Winter Marathon Rally 2014 – Race Results

Overall Race
1. Giuliano Cane and Lucia Galliani, 1938 Lancia Aprilia
2. Ezio and Francesca Salviato, 1939 Lancia Aprilia
3. Antonino Margiotta and Bruno Perno, 1965 Morris Mini Cooper S
4. Alberto Aliverti and Alberto Maffi, 1940 Lancia Aprilia
5. Mario Passanante and Maria Odilia Salvi, 1957 Lancia Appia C10S

APT Trophy
1. Belometti / Cadei, 1967 Innocenti Mini Cooper Mk I
2. Gatta / Maffina, 1959 Porsche 356 A Coupe
3. Battagliola / Prencipe, 1955 Austin-Healey 100 BN1

Pre-War Trophy
1. Spagnoli / Spagnoli, 1932 Fiat 508 S
2. Sandrolini Cortesi / Ferrari, 1937 Citroen 11 BL Roadster

TAG Heuer Barozzi Trophy
1. Barcella / Ghidotti, 1963 Porsche 356 C Coupe
2. Spagnoli / Parisi, 1932 Fiat 508 S
3. Gamberini / De Marco, 1964 Alfa Romeo Giulia TI Super