Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 – Report and Photos

Report and photos by Dennis Gray

The Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 was held Saturday, May 5th on the grounds of the Quail Lodge Golf Club in Carmel, California. More than 1,500 motorcycle enthusiasts and collectors attended the celebration, which showcased 250 motorcycles from the past, present and concepts for the future.

The 4th annual Quail Motorcycle Gathering celebrated the Evolution of the Motorcycle, featuring Indian Motorcycles.

Headlines entrants at the 2012 event included Marty Dickerson’s 1948 Vincent Rapide Racer, the “Alligator Bike” of Dan Gurney and Magni Motorcycles presented by Mr Giovanni Magnia, among others. Additional headline motorcycles on display included Gary Kohs’ collection of 32 MV Agusta motorcycles featuring an ex-works 125cc MV Agusta, winner of the 1953 Isle of Man, Thom McIlhattan’s collection of Harley-Davidson motorcycles, including a 1909 Harley-Davidson Model 5A, and Steve Lawrence’s 1962 BSA Gold Star motorcycle.

The Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 weekend kicked off Friday, March 4, with the Quail Ride – a 100-mile journey through the Monterey Peninsula, followed by parade laps at the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and a dinner at Quail Lodge Golf Club.

As is the practice with the Quail Motorsports Gathering, the day-long motorcycle event also offered a gourmet lunch complemented by beverages from award-winning wineries and breweries, together with live entertainment, leading manufacturers, lifestyle vendors and more. For the first time, the Quail unveiled the Quail Marketplace – a new outdoor corral where guests perused and purchased vintage and modern motorcycles for sale by owners.

The Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 concluded with the Circle of Champions award ceremony presented by Breitling. This year, the Quail Motorcycle Gathering Judges Committee of industry experts included Chief Judge Somer Hooker, Ian Barry, Paul d’Orleans, Herb Harris, Mert Lawwill, Michael Lynch, Giovanni Magni, Ron Peck and Craig Vetter. Best of Show was awarded to the 1974 MV Agusta 750 S of Simon Graham, the Spirit of the Quail Award went to 1971 Magni Rocket 3 owned by Giovanni Magni and the 1963 Royal Enfield Flat Track Racer of Ray Abrams won the Competition Sport Award.

Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 – Photo Gallery (click image for larger picture and description)

[nggallery id=402 images=15]

Quail Motorcycle Gathering 2012 – Results

Best of Show
1974 MV Agusta 750 S owned by Simon Graham

Cycle World “Elegance in Action” Award
1974 MV Agusta 750 S owned by Shinya Kimura

Spirit of the Quail Award
1971 Magni Rocket 3 owned by Giovanni Magni

Competition Sport Award
1963 Royal Enfield Flat Track Racer owned by Ray Abrams

Design and Style Award
1941 Indian 841 Military Trans Verse owned by Clay Hudson

Innovation Award
2011 Dan Gurney Alligator V-Gator presented by Thad Wolff on behalf of Dan Gurney

Industry Award
2012 Crocker Big Tank owned by Michael Schacht

First Place: 1986 Ducati F1 Montjuich owned by Peter Richardson
Second Place: 1986 Honda VF1000R owned by Brian Light

Antique through 1940
First Place: 1912 Excelsior 61C1 Chaw Drive owned by James Riffenburgh
Second Place: 1940 Indian Chief Police Special owned by Charles Syres

Competition through 1978
First Place: 1957 Mondial 175 Gran Sport owned by John Goldman
Second Place: 2006 BUB Seven Streamliner owned by Dennis Manning

Custom/Modified through 2012
First Place: 1974 MV Agusta 750 S owned by Shinya Kimura
Second Place: 1940 Indian 741 Scout owned by Jesse Bassett of The Gasbox

American through 1978
First Place: 1947 Indian Chief owned by Gene Brown
Second Place: 1937 Indian Four Model 437 owned by Bowman Motors

Japanese through 1978
First Place: 1973 Kawasaki Z-1 900 owned by Damon Meek
Second Place: 1970 Kawasaki 250 F4 Sidewinder owned by Jarvis Gross

European through 1978
First Place: 1961 BSA Gold Star Clubman’s owned by Gene Brown
Second Place: 1950 Triumph 6T Thunderbird owned by Gregory Beck

Off Road through 1978
First Place: 1968 Rickman Metisse 441 owned by Blair Beck
Second Place: 1966 Bultaco 250cc Metisse owned by Robbie Cadwallader

Craig Vetter Fuel Economy Challenge Award
2011 Hayes Diesel MD690R2 owned by Fred Hayes

FIVA Preservation Award
1914 Feilbach Limited owned by Bowman Motors

Purchase Dennis Gray Photos
See any photos that you’d like on your wall at home? We offer top-quality prints of any Dennis Gray photo shipped to your address of choice. We encourage you to purchase photos for yourself and the vintage racing enthusiasts among your family and friends. Prices are as follows:

8″ x 10″ = $24.00 (printed to edge or 1/2″ white border right, left, top and 1″ bottom)
16″ x 20″ = $44.00 (printed to edge or 2″ white border right, left, top and 3″ bottom)
20″ x 30″ = $54.00 (printed to edge or 2″ white border right, left, top and 3″ bottom)

Prices include shipping within the United States. (International Buyers: please inquire about total cost). To order any Dennis Gray picture, send payment via PayPal to or via cash/check to:

903 Pine St., Ste. 30
San Francisco, CA. 94108

Please specify the specific picture(s), print size, border choice and delivery address. Items will ship within 1-2 business days after receipt of payment.

[Source: Quail Motorcycle Gathering; Dennis Gray]