2009 Goodwood Revival – Whitsun Trophy Race Results and Photos

Adrian Newey's Ford GT40 and David Piper's Ferrari 250LM
Julian Bronson mastered his monstrous McLaren M1B to win the final race of the 2009 Goodwood Revival meeting – a full year after he almost destroyed the car in last year’s Whitsun Trophy.

The first half of the race was run under the safety car after Paul Knapfield’s Lola T70 Spider speared sideways at the start, causing Joaquin Folch’s Ford GT40 and Marshall Bailey’s Lola T70 to connect in the ensuing melee. Remarkably, Knapfield was able to continue to claim an eventual eighth but the real drama was between Andrew Newell’s GT40 roadster and the chasing pack of Bronson, Jon Minshaw (Lola) and Andrew Smith (Lola).

Newell was gradually shuffled down the order with Bronson the man on the move within a lap of the race being re-started with twelve of the race’s 25-minutes already run. Bronson powered his way past second-place man Smith down the Lavant Straight with three laps left to go, Minshaw doing likewise the following tour. By the final lap, Bronson had a 12-car length and came home to a rapturous reception.

Whitsun Trophy Race Results (13 laps)

1. Julian Bronson, McLaren M1B
2. Jon Minshaw, Lola T70 Spyder
3. Andrew Smith, Lola T70 Spyder
4. Andrew Newell, Ford GT40 Roadster
5. Adrian Newey, Ford GT40

Fastest Lap: Julian Bronson, McLaren M1B at 1:24.470 (102.28 mph)

Click for complete results: Whitsun Trophy Race Results

[Source: Goodwood Revival]