Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

World Sportscar Masters at Brands Hatch Results

Winning Lola T70 Mk 3B at Brands HatchAndrew Smith secured victory in the second World Sportscar Masters race, held May 24-25 at Brands Hatch GP, guiding his Lola T70 Mk3b home ahead of Charlie Kemp’s Lola T210.

Smith, who won the opening race, made a good start from pole but was pushed down to second when Chris Beighton false started in his Lola T70. Beighton had to serve a drive-through penalty, dropping him down the order and promoting Smith into first and Kemp into second.

After five laps Smith had established a narrow gap over Kemp, whilst a storming drive from Oliver Bryant – who qualified on pole for race one in his Lola T70 Mk3B – saw him move from 24th on the grid to fourth place. Having passed the Lola T210 of Bob Houghton Bryant set about chasing down the Ligier JS2 of Paul Knapfield, passing him on lap six to move into third.

Bryant began to close on Kemp in second, setting three fastest laps, before problems with his Lola T70 meant his pace slowed and forced him to settle for third. Kemp himself began catching the lead Lola T70 of Andrew Smith, closing the gap between the pair from five seconds to half a second, but was unable to prevent Smith from taking his second race win of the weekend.

Behind the lead trio Andrew Newall secured fourth in his Alfa Romeo T33/3 with a brave move on Paul Knapfield as the pair went into Clarke Curve with two laps remaining. They were followed by Bob Hughton in his Lola T210 and Andrew Middleton’s Taydec MK3, whilst a last lap move by Rupert Clevely in his De Tomaso Pantera sealed eighth, pushing Tim Cousin’s Chevron B23 into ninth. Sandy Watson rounded out the top ten in his Chevron B8.

World Sportscar Masters, Brands Hatch, Race Two Results:

1. Andrew Smith (Lola T70 Mk3b), 20 laps

2. Charlie Kemp (Lola T210), +0.549s

3. Oliver Bryant (Lola T70 Mk3b), +42.226s

4. Andrew Newall (Alfa Romeo T33/3), +1m06.426s

5. Paul Knapfield (Ligier JS2), +1m11.467s

6. Bob Houghton (Lola T210), +1 lap

7. Andrew Middleton (Taydec MK3), +1 lap

8. Rupert Clevely (De Tomaso Pantera), +1 lap

9. Tim Cousins (Chevron B23), +1 lap

10. Sandy Watson (Chevron B8), +1 lap

[Source: World Sportscar Masters]