Greg Galdi's 1970 917K.
Greg Galdi's 1970 Porsche 917K.

Rennsport Reunion IV 2011 – Report and Photos

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV was held October 14-16, 2011 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Salinas, California. The first West Coast appearance of Porsche Rennsport Reunion saw more than 300 Porsche race cars battle on the 2.238-mile, 11-turn road course.

Hosted by Porsche Cars North America, Rennsport Reunion IV assembled the wide variety of Porsche’s most historic racing models from the nimble 550 Spyder of the mid-Fifties through the mighty 917 and 956/962 of the Seventies and Eighties to the RS Spyder of the last decade.

Special tribute was paid to the numerous racing versions of the Porsche 911 and their countless victories at race tracks around the world. Collector Jerry Seinfeld and retired Porsche Engineer Norbert Singer shared Grand Marshal duties at the 2011 Rennsport Reunion.

“Rennsport Reunion IV has exceeded our wildest expectations, and the entire Porsche team is both grateful and a bit proud that our dreams and hard work have paid off,” said Detlev von Platen, president of Porsche Cars North America. “But it took more than just our efforts to make this weekend a magic one. It took a perfect race track, a beautiful countryside, picture perfect weather and the tireless work and cooperation by the professionals of SCRAMP to make Rennsport Reunion IV unforgettable for our many racing legends, the hundreds of participants, the tens of thousands of race fans.”

With nearly 35,000 spectators on hand over three days enjoying autograph sessions with 50-plus legendary Porsche drivers, German music and food in the Biergarten, museum quality display cars and plenty of on-track Porsche action – Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV is in the books as the best ever on all accounts.

Rennsport Reunion IV 2011 – Photo Gallery (click image for larger picture and description)



Rennsport Reunion IV 2011 – Race Results

Group One – Gmund Cup
1. Donald Anderson, 1964 Bobsy-Porsche SR-3 (1:45.768 fastest lap)
2. Cameron Healey, 1953 Cooper Porsche Sports Racer
3. Mark Eskuche, 1962 Porsche 356
4. Dave Burton, 1964 Porsche 356 SC
5. George Ballbach, 1961 Porsche 356

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group One Race Results

Group Two – Eifel Trophy
1. Arthur Conner, 1964 Platypus-Porsche S/R
2. Phillip Bagley, 1972 Porsche 911S (1:43.382 fastest lap)
3. James Newton, 1970 Porsche 911S
4. Gregory Campbell, 1964 Elva Porsche Mk VIIS
5. Lee Giannone, 1966 Porsche 911

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group Two Race Results

Group Three – Weissach Cup
1. Brian Redman, 1971 Porsche 908/3 (1:32.376 fastest lap)
2. Chris MacAllister, 1969 Porsche 917K
3. Gils Van Lennep, 1969 Porsche 917
4. Cameron Healy, 1968 Porsche 908K
5. Howard Cherry, 1966 Porsche 910

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group Three Race Results

Group Four – Carrera Trophy
1. Rusty French, 1979 Porsche 935
2. Jerome Rodela, 1976 Porsche 935
3. Rob Walton, 1978 Porsche 935/78
4. Ranson Webster, 1976 Porsche 935 K3
5. Jean Francois Dumoulin, 1980 Porsche 935 K3

(1:29.392 fastest lap – Johannes Van Overbeek, 1983 Porsche 935)

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group Four Race Results

Group Five – Stuttgart Cup
1. Didier Theys, 2007 Porsche RS Spyder (1:20.679 fastest lap)
2. Christian Zugel, 2006 Porsche RS Spyder
3. Bruce Canepa, 2008 Porsche RS Spyder
4. Mark Hotchkis, 1986 Porsche 962
5. Joachin Maas, 1988 Porsche 962

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group Five Race Results

Group 6A/6B – Cayman Interseries / 911 Invitational
1. David Donahue, 2011 Porsche Cayman Interseries (1:38.128 fastest lap)
2. Mark Sandridge, 2011 Porsche Cayman S
3. Henry Davis, 2009 Porsche Cayman Interseries

1. Kevin Roush, 2000 Porsche GTR (1:31.679 fastest lap)
2. Larry Schumacher, 1997 Porsche 993 Turbo
3. Mark Congelton, 1994 Porsche 911 RSR

Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV – Complete Group Six Race Results

Group Seven
1. Loren Beggs, 1995 Porsche 911 (1:30.1 fastest lap)
2. Jeff Gamroth, 1997 Porsche 911 RSR
3. Alex Welch, 2004 Porsche 911 RSR
4. Masuo Robinson, 1970 Porsche 911
5. Bill Dawson, 1997 Porsche 911

Group Eight
1. Cooper MacNeil, 2011 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (1:30.00 fastest lap)
2. Rich Walton, 2010 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (1:30.00 fastest lap)
3. Rob Walton, 2011 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
4. Billy Stevens, 2009 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
5. Wesley Hoaglund, 2007 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup

[Source: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca; photo credit: Dennis Gray]

Show Comments (7)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Boy, oh boy. These are great pictures. The headline Martini 917 with the Rennsport banner in the background almost is too good to be true.

  2. Lots of great shots! I especially like your excellent portraits of Canepa, Haywood, Herrmann (needs the double rr), Morton, Redman and Zwart. Looking forward to your full report!

  3. Great photos Dennis. It would be my privilege to carry your camera bag at the next Rennsport. All I ask is first class airfare and a room at at five-star hotel.

  4. Great pictures Dennis. I agree with Mark Leighton’s comment on the 917 pic. Awesome!
    Oh, if you have 2 camera bags, I’ll be glad to help out. same rate as Lou’s.