Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Goodwood Revival 2014 – Whitsun Trophy Report and Photos

Whitsun Trophy Race - 2014 Goodwood Revival TIM SCOTT
Whitsun Trophy Race - 2014 Goodwood Revival

The Whitsun Trophy race at the Goodwood Revival 2014 was held Saturday, September 13th at the 2.4-mile Goodwood Motor Circuit in West Sussex, England.

The Whitsun Trophy for sports-racing prototypes of a type that competed between 1961 and 1966 was the weekend’s fastest race and it provided breathtaking entertainment. Following last year’s spectacular one-make race to mark the 50th anniversary of the Ford GT40, the event returned to its regular format for 2014 with a huge variety of big-engined prototypes taking part. Legendary machines such as the Lola T70 and McLaren M1 in its various forms took on GT40s and other models that tackled the never-ending Mulsanne Straight at the Le Mans 24 Hours.

The final race of Saturday featured the most powerful cars present at the Goodwood Revival 2014. The V8-monsters smoked off the line with Chris Goodwin powering his way up the inside to take the lead. Driving a McLaren-Chevrolet M1B that had been raced by both Bruce McLaren and Chris Amon, he proceeded to pull away from the rest of the field, ultimately winning by over 17 seconds.

The North American-built Huffaker Genie Mk8 – Chevrolet-powered like the rest of the first nine cars – of Piero Enrico Tonetti was initially scored second ahead of a contest between David Hart’s Lola T70 Spyder and Jay Esterer’s Chinook Mk 2. The final classification was later amended, however, with 10 seconds added to Tonetti’s race time for “driving in a manner incompatible with general safety”, dropping him to 4th overall.

Similar to our 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 race photo galleries, Senior Photographer Tim Scott also documented the 2014 Goodwood Revival, including the following images from the big-banger Whitsun Trophy race.

Goodwood Revival 2014 – Whitsun Trophy Main Photo Gallery (click image for larger picture and description)

The unauthorized use and/or duplication of any editorial or photographic content from without express and written permission from the publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Goodwood Revival 2014 – Whitsun Trophy Race Results

1. Chris Goodwin, 1966 McLaren-Chevrolet M1B
2. David Hart, 1965 Lola-Chevrolet T70 Spyder
3. Jay Esterer, 1966 Chinook-Chevrolet Mk2
4. Piero Enrico Tonetti, 1964 Huffaker-Chevrolet Genie Mk8
5. Pedro Macedo Silva, 1966 Lola-Chevrolet T70 Spyder