Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Bobby Rahal to Compete at 2015 Classic 24 Daytona

Porsche 935 at Daytona
Porsche 935 K3 at Daytona

Racing great Bobby Rahal will compete at the 2015 Classic 24 Daytona, to be held November 12–15 at Daytona International Speedway in Florida. Historic Sportscar Racing’s second Classic 24 race weekend will be presented by IMSA.

The IndyCar Champion and Indianapolis 500-winning driver was also victorious in the 24 Hours of Daytona early in his illustrious career. Before he even won his first IndyCar race in 1982, Rahal earned one of his first major victories in Daytona’s day-long sports car race. Rahal co-drove the number 9 Garretson Racing/Style Auto Porsche 935 K3 with Bob Garretson and Brian Redman to victory at Daytona in 1981.

For the Classic 24, Rahal will stay true to his Daytona-winning Porsche roots, co-driving a 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RSR with automobile industry executive, Jim Farley, an experienced historic racing competitor in his own right. The RSR is being prepared and entered by RM Motorsports.

“The Classic 24 at Daytona was a race I wanted to be a part of from the first time I heard about it last year,” Rahal said. “I have had the pleasure of winning the race in my career, and we are still trying to get a Rolex 24 victory with our BMW GTLM team, but being able to couple that with kind of a throwback step in time will be a lot of fun. I always enjoy the opportunity to compete with my friend, Jim Farley, and to be able to drive a 1970’s era Porsche 911 RSR seems like the perfect and iconic machine for the Classic 24. We are looking forward to the race and honored to be a part of it.”

The list of current and legendary drivers confirmed for the Classic 24 now includes Bobby Rahal; Hurley Haywood; Gijs Van Lennep; Patrick Long; Scott Sharp; Jeff Zwart; Jim Pace; Shane Lewis; Mike Skeen; Gunnar Jeanette and many more.

The Classic 24 features six period-correct run groups rotating through a full 24 hours of racing on the 3.56-mile Daytona road course. The run groups, which include various classes of similar-era race cars, each take to the track four times throughout the 24 hours. The competitors in each class covering the most total distance in their group’s four sessions will be crowned Classic 24 at Daytona champions.

For more information, including entry forms and ticket information, visit

[Source: HSR; photo: Autosports Marketing Associates]