Join The World's Best Iconic & Vintage Car Community >>

Silverstone Classic 2011 – Report and Photo Gallery

The Silverstone Classic 2011 was held 22-24 July at the famed 3.6 mile Silverstone Grand Prix circuit in Northamptonshire, England, with over 1000 competitors racing more than 800 of classic race cars spanning the spectrum of motor sport history.

The “Worlds Biggest Classic Motor Racing Festival” not only offered close racing, but 7000 classic cars on the infield, an ‘Access All Areas’ policy for spectators, rock and classical music entertainment on a grand scale, aerobatic displays and much more.

The entire 2011 Silverstone Classic weekend has a strong E-type element, as the event marked the car’s official 50th birthday celebration for the leading Jaguar clubs. More than 1000 E-types were on site and over 800 took part in a special parade on the full 3.6-mile Grand Prix circuit, forming a mammoth E-type traffic jam. The final number of cars in the parade will be notified to Guinness World Records and the outcome will be confirmed shortly. On-track, a record grid of 52 racing E-types contested the E-type Challenge, the special race series created for 2011 to mark the anniversary year.

Another highlight at the 2011 edition of Silverstone Classic was a parade by many hundreds of cars belonging to the 120 owners clubs present – in total they contributed a staggering collection of some 7000 cars for the public to view.

“It has been great to see vast numbers of people, especially families, arriving and experiencing the Classic. The feedback has been nothing but positive and already we are working on plans for 2012’s Classic when we will aim to make the event even more special for our competitors, exhibitors, media and visitors.”

Similar to the 2010 event, Photographer Tim Scott of Fluid Images also documented the 2011 edition of the Silverstone Classic. He offers the following images that capture the massive and interesting field of entrants and the close vintage car racing action. To see more of Tim’s work, visit

Silverstone Classic 2011 – Photo Gallery (click image for larger picture and description)